Hawkes & Taylor triumph in Couriers 5k Series

Screen Shot 2018-06-07 at 10.30.18It was series wins for Stuart Hawkes & Alice Taylor as the annual Hereford Couriers 5k series came to a close on Wednesday evening. The Tipton Harriers athlete Hawkes won all 3 races of the series clocking up impressive times of 15:25, 15:17 & 15:25 with Alex Lee (Cheltenham Harriers) coming runner up with Eliot Taylor (Cheltenham Harriers) in 3rd. In the women’s race it was a great set of runs for Taylor who runs for Cheltenham Harriers winning all 3 races 18:00, 17:43 & 18:01, Chloe Wheeler (Forest of Dean) came in 2nd place with Kelly Bowen (Croft Ambrey) picking up 3rd place.

The Wednesday night spring series saw a rise in entries this year with a strong field of competition helping many of the runners record personal best performances on the speedy course.

Stuart tweeted saying “Finished the #Hereford5k series with a win last night. A fast course and a strong field of runners, perfect sharpener for my summer race targets. Thank you @HfdCouriersRC”

Alice who was pleased with the series win said “I enjoy the Hereford 5km series as its a quick, local course that seems to attract some good athletes, predominately in the men’s field. It is always well coordinated with supportive and helpful marshals and race organisers. It’s always a pleasure to race there and hopefully see you again next year!”

Congratulations to all the age category winners check out the full series results below; 

Overall 1st Stuart Hawkes Tipton Harriers
2nd Alex Lee Cheltenham Harriers
3rd Eliot Taylor Cheltenham Harriers
JM U15 1st Scott Jones Croft Ambrey
2nd Matthew Brunnock Hereford & County AC
JM U17 1st Alec Harper Croft Ambrey
2nd Jason Smith Kidderminster & Stourport
JM U20 1st Ross Cameron Hereford Couriers
M40 1st Mark Thomas Croft Ambrey
M45 1st Paul Jones Hereford Couriers
M50 1st Leonardo Taggio Worcester AC
M55 1st Ian Smith Forest of Dean
M60 1st Michael Strange Forest of Dean
M65 1st Ashley Robinson Croft Ambrey
M70 1st Pete Smith Wye Valley Runners
M75 1st Brian Symonds Wye Valley Runners
Overall 1st Alice Taylor Cheltenham Harriers
2nd Chloe Wheeler Forest of Dean
3rd Kelly Bowen Croft Ambrey
JF U15 1st Charlotte Broadhurst Kidderminster & Stourport
F35 1st Lisa Ruck Hereford Couriers
F40 1st Clare Mallender Hereford Couriers
F45 1st Bronwen Tyler-Jones Hereford & County AC
F50 1st Lynne Compton Wye Valley Runners
F55 1st Lynne Park Forest of Dean
F60 1st Beryl Sampson Gloucester AC
1st Male Team Cheltenham Harriers
1st Female Team Forest of Dean

See the full series results here;